Chet Faker Wins Album Of The Year At J Awards

Triple J crown Chet Faker for his Australian Album of the Year.

Robert Whiteby Robert White

Chet Faker has claimed the Australian Album of the Year award for his debut release Built On Glass at Tuesday night’s 10th J Awards.

The Melbourne producer beat out 11 nominated artists, including The Preatures, Hilltop Hoods, Ball Park Music and Flight Facilities, to claim the award for best Aussie album ahead of next week’s ARIA awards where he will be among the favourites nab Australian Album of the Year and Best Male Artist at the televised ceremony in Sydney.

“I still remember a few years ago first hearing my song on triple j and freaking out then, so it’s a great honour. Thanks for the love and support back home from the best radio station in Australia.” Faker said in a video acceptance speech.

Meg Mac was also announced as the J Awards Unearthed Artist of the Year, joining the likes of previous award winners Boy & Bear and Grinspoon.

Hit singles ‘Every Lie’ and ‘Roll Up Your Sleeves’ lifted the 23-year-old soul-pop singer above nominees Airling, Ceres, Coin Banks, Japanese Wallpaper and UV boi.

Sing-songwriter Mia Dyson was awarded Double J Australian Artist of the Year for fifth studio album Idyllwild while Sia took home top honours in the Australian Music Video of the Year category for the hugely successful ‘Chandelier’.

Co-directed with Daniel Askill, the video features a remarkable dance number from 11-year-old Maddie Ziegler and has amassed more than 300 million hits on YouTube.    

J Awards 2014

Winner: Chet Faker – Built On Glass


#1 Dads – About Face
Ball Park Music – Puddinghead
Flight Facilities – Down To Earth
Hilltop Hoods Walking – Under Stars
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – I’m In Your Mind Fuzz
Remi – Raw X Infinity
Seekae – The Worry
Sleepmakeswaves – Love Of Cartography
The Preatures – Blue Planet Eyes
Thundamentals – So We Can Remember
Total Control – Typical System

Unearthed Artist Of The Year

Winner: Meg Mac


Coin Banks
Japanese Wallpaper
Uv Boi

Double J Australian Artist Of The Year

Winner: Mia Dyson


Augie March
Blank Realm
Caitlin Park
Kate Miller Heidke
Steve Smyth

Australian Music Video Of The Year

Winner: Sia – Chandelier – Directed By Sia Furler And Daniel Askill


Chet Faker – Talk Is Cheap – Directed By Toby & Pete
Client Liaison – Free Of Fear – Directed By Jack Peddey
Hudson And Troop – Frameless – Directed By Darcy Prendergast And Andrew Goldsmith
Illy – One For The City – Directed By Mark Alston
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Hot Wax – Directed By Jason Galea